Friday, May 22, 2009

The Korean Sport of Subway Pushing

So did I kill this blog by not posting in four months?

~segway~

A few days ago Chris and I watched with disgust as a hoard of elderly ladies tried to get on the subway before anyone had gotten out. An elderly man struggled with them for a few seconds, until he pushed with his arms and yelled something in Korean, clearing them like bowling pins just enough to get through. He was then followed by a woman with a stroller and some other people. Why don't people wait? Why are they so selfish? Usually when it's this crowded there's not even room for people to get on until the others are off anyway, but it still happens. I don't like having to push people out of the way, and it just burns me when I get pushed by an inconsiderate person who runs to cut in front of me, or jostles me off balance. I am so close to slugging them sometimes it's not funny. The social norm is to slightly bump people so you can get through rather than saying "excuse me" or something, but the social norm for many is also to not move when you are bumped, because otherwise you may lose your spot. I never get over the people who walk into the subway and then stop right in the doorway, as if there is no one behind them trying to get in too.

My point is that it's not good; the selfish behaviour and also my attitude. It's on par with road rage. It can wreck an otherwise happy morning for me, being angry at someone who doesn't know I'm there. I need to let it go, and not with the consolation that they are such a stupid selfish person and next time I will be ready with an umbrella or a spraybottle or my fist... because one day I will be that person, hopefully never on purpose, but oblivious to someone else and how I cut them off or knocked them out of their happy day into a seething pit of doom.


~end of segway~

Chris and I have decided to work another year in Korea. Our last day is June 12, and a week later we will be flying back to Canada to once again become wondering nomads visiting people for two months. Were basically doing the Ontatio circuit, with main stops being Barwick, Toronto and Windsor, and we will fly back in the fourth week of August sometime.

A lot has happened to come to this point -we were even really close to quitting a couple times, but I'm glad we persevered.

I've been realising that mostly it's just so easy to complain about what is wrong than to cherish the blessings I do have. There are always co-workers who do stupid things or annoy me, children who decide to not listen, or sneeze in my food. See here I am complaining. Kindergarten is a hectic place. It's not that the work is hard, it just takes so much effort to keep it good, keep it happy. To discipline children all day while still teaching and then playing with the kids too, like kids can play, it's draining. But my blessings - Chris, a job, a place, people I could call if I needed help, family I can talk to on Skype =D, and God is always there, always waiting.

Kay =)


These guys we named Aslan and Donkey Kong - parking space holders in front of a bar near our house.